What do the odometer codes mean?
Stacy Denver avatar
Written by Stacy Denver
Updated over a week ago

There are a total of four odometer codes, which indicate the reliability of the odometer reading. Listed below are the codes and what they represent:

  • ACTUAL – The odometer reading is considered to be true and actual.

  • NOT ACTUAL – The odometer reading is not accurate or cannot be determined.

  • EXEMPT – The odometer reading is not required by federal law.

  • EXCEEDS MECHANICAL LIMITS – The actual odometer reading has reached the highest numbers mechanically available (it has "rolled over"), and it cannot be determined.

Last Updated 8/25/23

Did this answer your question?